28
Aug
09

Hakuna Matata

I find myself plugging along in Gotham and taking in anything and everything I can. Continuing to make observations of what is familiar and what is out of my norm, I think I’m slowly but surely moving forward in my quest to be a New Yorker. NYC 314

School hasn’t started yet, but I can tell it will be promising. After meeting some classmates at a social last night, I think there will be a variety of ideas and experiences for us to share. Truthfully what I was most proud of last night was knowing exactly how to get to the restaurant we were headed to: G to the A to the F. I will conquer the subway once and for all!

In a land of infinite options, there seems to be only one that it’s glaringly apparent to the passerby. Whether I’m in Midtown or the Lower East Side, the one place everyone seems to agree on is McDonald’s. I, for one, have not followed suit. I refuse to cave in (although it might happen eventually, but I’m holding out). I value my dignity, but somehow, I need to communicate that to my stomach.

The days are flying by and standing still all at once. My 10-12 hours days have been brutal, but I’m learning the ropes and looking forward to ultimately having a firm grasp on the school I’m working at. It was a bit problematic when parents dropping off their students would ask me, “where is Bursar’s office?” when all I could do is meet them with a blank stare.

Throughout the madness, I have crossed off some of my New York “to-do” items. I finally saw The Lion King for the first time. Great music and costumes met with overpriced souvenirs and hundreds of kids in the theater. I really can’t complain, as I did see the show for free. Oh the joys of working for Higher Education and chaperoning students’ parents. It was worth it to see the look of horror on some of their faces when we got on the subway. I’ve never seen a man cling onto a pole so hard before.

NYC 236

Though crowded, the MoMA was incredible. Any art museum that includes such greats as Dali and Pollack to Starry Night and Campbell’s Soup Cans is a winner in my book.

Walking across the Brooklyn Bridge was an experience I will never forget. 1) because it was a 40-minute walk from campus which we did at 5am, and 2) there was a horrific accident on the bridge that shut down car traffic into Manhattan. The sunrise was not what I was expecting, as the sun had a blood red/orange glow. I just have to remind myself it’s all for the experience.

I had breakfast at Dean and Deluca. Felicity would be proud.

The Today Show was exactly what I expected. After not meeting Matt Lauer, I convinced myself it was significant I was there under the scrolling text outside Studio 1A the day Ted Kennedy passed away. We meet Al Roker and Anne Curry. Can’t sneeze at second best, I suppose.

~

The weather is a roller coaster and I’m constantly lathering anti-itch cream from being eaten alive by bugs. Nonetheless, I’m greatly looking forward to school starting, having friends visit from home, and seeing what antics I’ll add to my list.

1 Response to “Hakuna Matata”


  1. 1 Melissa
    August 31, 2009 at 12:58 pm

    Sounds like you’re finding a few ways to pass the days. Do you have any more pictures? Post them if you do.

    I know what you mean about McDonalds being ubiquitous; it’s like a weed that can grow anywhere. …At Disneyland, in all neighborhoods, and last week I saw it at South Coast Plaza (plopped right in between like, DKNY and another clothing shop).


Leave a Reply

August 2009
S M T W T F S
    Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

